// EDGAR ALLAN POE: COMPLETE TALES // (CHALLENGE 14)

Edgar Allan Poe“I have graven it within the hills, and my vengeance upon the dust within the rock.”
The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket

*Please see my previous post!*

By Edgar Allan Poe 

Published by Fall River Press, 2012

Pages 111-1020

*NOTE: If you’re interested, my favorite short story that I read was How to Write a Blackwood Article – it’s absolutely hilarious, and even if you aren’t a fan of Poe I would definitely recommend looking it up and giving it a shot!*

Edgar Allan Poe is one of those writers most people simply don’t know much about – a few of his works (primarily “The Fall of the House of Usher,” “A Tell-Tale Heart,” “Annabel Lee,” and of course “The Raven”) are analyzed by students across the United States, but few others of his have carried through from his writing career into the modern-day. Interestingly, Poe is known among writers as being a pioneer of science-fiction, mystery, horror, and modern poetics, having written hundreds of shorts stories, plays, and poems for newspapers and more.

Edgar Allan Poe’s Complete Poems receives 11 out of 12 pages turned.

(Click here to see my Rating System; it will open to a new tab.)


As stated previously in my review of the poetry section of this book, I have been a fan of Poe’s for a while now. I find his writing to be refreshing and clever, and as someone who loves abundant details this was exactly the book for me. Everyone knows about the depressing and morbid side of Poe’s literature, but most of his works were actually quite comedic in nature – even those that dealt largely with death. One of his short stories, entitled “Loss of Breath,” a man loses his breath when he becomes angry with his wife – literally. As in, he actually is rendered speechless and just ends up wandering around town with no breath. Many of Poe’s stories also are magnificent precursors to modern science-fiction – much of the time, I would find myself reading a story in which he launched into detailed explanations of things that were so technical in nature that they just flew over my head. Best of all, Poe wrote several stories in which he created a fictional story with the intent of convincing the reader that it actually happened. So he would go to great lengths to make it sound like a hot-air balloon actually can float up to the moon, or that there is a tropical island located in the middle of Antarctica where a tribe of savages lives complete estranged from the outside world. In all, this was highly amusing to read – although time-consuming, and sometimes difficult to get through.

“‘Villains!’ I shrieked, ‘dissemble no more! I admit the deed! – tear up the planks! here, here! – it is the beating of his hideous heart!'”
― 
The Tell-Tale Heart

Character Development: 2 –  There were so many stories with so many beautiful and fascinating plots; I can’t help but give this category full points.

Plot Movement: 2 – As stated above, well-developed plots were in abundance, although occasionally a story or two were iffy on this front.

Attention to Detail: 1.5 – Poe uses a lot of detail, which I normally would applaud, but considering that often its meaning or usefulness escaped me I can’t quite give the full 2 points for this.

Writing Style/Voice: 1.5 – Overall, I love Poe’s writing style, but as I said in the above category there were times when he over-embellished and it just took way too long to read.

Entertainment Factor: 4 – I love Edgar Allan Poe, and now I can say that I’ve read ALL of his stories and poems! 😀 I would highly recommend this book, or at least any of his poems and/or short stories if you aren’t willing to make in the investment and read the whole collection! 

book-club

Leave a Reply

